Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeFestivalsNavratri 2020 - Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day...

Navratri 2020 – Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Goddess, Each Day

 Navratri 2020:

Navratri is a festival of Hinduism that lasts nine nights (and ten days) and is celebrated in autumn every year. It is observed in different parts of the Indian cultural sphere for various purposes and celebrated differently. Theoretically, there are four seasonal Navaratri. In reality, however, in honour of the sacred feminine Devi (Durga), it is the post-monsoon autumn festival called Sharada Navaratri that is the most observed. The festival is celebrated in the bright half of the Ashvin Hindu calendar month, which usually falls in September and October, the Gregorian months.

The Durga Puja is synonymous with Navaratri in the eastern and northeastern states of India, whereby the goddess Durga fights and emerges victorious over the buffalo demon to help restore Dharma. The festival is associated with “Rama Lila” and Dussehra in the northern and western states, celebrating the war and triumph of god Rama over the demon king Ravana. The triumph of various goddesses, Rama or Saraswati, is celebrated in the southern states. The common theme in all cases is the battle and triumph of Good over Evil on the basis of a regionally popular epic or legend such as the Ramayana or the Devi Mahatmya.

Celebrations involve decorating the stage, reciting the legend, enacting the plot, and chanting the Hindu scriptures. The navratri nine days are also a major cultural event in the crop season, such as competitive design and pandal staging, a family visit to these pandals, and the public celebration of Hindu culture’s classical and folk dances. The statues are either submerged in a water body such as river and ocean on the final day, called the Vijayadashami or Dussehra, or the statue symbolising evil is burning. The festival also begins the preparation for Diwali, the festival of lights, one of the most important and widely observed holidays, which is observed twenty days after Vijayadashami or Dussehra or Dashain.

Navratri Goddess Each Day 2020:

The Navratri festival is connected to the influential war between Navratri Durga and the demon Mahishasura and celebrates the triumph of Good over Evil. These nine days are devoted exclusively to Goddess Durga and her nine Nava Durga Avatars. An embodiment of the Navratri Goddess is associated with each day:

Navratri Day 1 Goddess – Maa Shailputri

Identified as Pratipada, Shailaputri (literally ‘Daughter of the Mountain’), an embodiment of Parvati, is associated with this day. The Goddess is worshipped as Shiva’s consort in this form; she is represented as riding the bull, Nandi, with a trishula in her right hand and a lotus in her left. The direct incarnation of Mahakali is known to be Mata Shailputri. The day’s colour is red, reflecting movement and vigour.

Navratri Day 2 Goddess – Maa Brahmacharini

Goddess Brahmacharini, another incarnation of Parvati, is worshipped at Dwitiya. Parvati became Sati, her unmarried self, in this type. For liberation or moksha and the endowment of harmony and prosperity, Brahmacharini is praised. Mata Brahmacharini symbolises happiness and calm, portrayed as barefoot walking and holding a japamala and kamandal in her hands. Blue is the day’s colour code. The blue Navratri Day 2 colour reflects tranquilly and powerful energy.

Navratri Day 3 Goddess – Maa Chandraghanta

Tritiya commemorates the worship of Chandraghanta-the name derived from the fact that Parvati decorated her forehead with the ardhachandra (lit. half-moon) after marrying Shiva. She is the embodiment of grace and symbolises courage as well. Yellow is the third day’s colour, which is a vivacious colour that can pep up the mood of anyone.

Navratri Day 4 Goddess – Kushmanda

On Chaturthi, Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped. Kushmanda, believed to be the creative force of the world, is aligned with the earth’s vegetation endowment, and thus, the colour of the day is green. She is described as having 8 arms and is sitting on a Tiger.

Navratri Day 5 Goddess – Skandamata

The mother of Skanda (or Kartikeya) is Skandamata, the goddess worshipped by Panchami. Grey ‘s colour is indicative of a mother’s transforming power when her child is faced with risk. She is portrayed riding a ferocious lion, carrying her baby and having four arms.

Navratri Day 6 Goddess – Katyayani Katyayani

Katyayani Katyayani  is an incarnation of Durga, born to the sage Katyayana, and displays bravery symbolised by the colour Orange. Known as the goddess of warriors, she is considered to be one of Devi’s most violent types. Kātyāyanī rides a lion in this avatar and has four paws.

Navratri Day 7 Goddess – Mata Kalaratri

Kalaratri, considered the most ferocious form of the Goddess Durga, is worshipped by Saptami. Parvati is thought to have removed her fair skin to destroy the Sumbha and Nisumbha demons. White is the colour of the day. The Goddess appears on Saptami in a white attire with a lot of fury in her fiery eyes, and her skin turns black. The white colour represents prayer and goodwill and assures the devotees that they will be shielded from harm by the Goddess.

Navaratri Day 8 Goddess- Maa Mahagauri

Knowledge and harmony symbolise Mahagauri. Pink is the colour associated with this day that reflects optimism.

Navratri Day 9 Goddess – Mata Sidhidatri

People pray at Siddhidatri on the last day of the festival, also known as Navami. Sitting on a lotus, she is thought to own all sorts of Siddhis and bestows them. She’s got four hands here. SriLakshmi Devi is also known. The day’s light blue hue portrays an appreciation for the beauty of nature.

Navratri 2020 Images:

Navratri 2020

Greetings from Viharadarshani! your one stop shop for discovering India's treasures.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Stay Connected


Most Popular

- Advertisment -

Recent Comments