North Indian Temples | Architecture | History | Information

Our country is also called as ‘the land of the temples’, where innumerable Hindu temples dot the landscape. A lot of these north india temples are very ancient and some are massive in size and beautiful in appearance. These north indian temples were designed, constructed and are being maintained based on spiritual principles an expressed in the ancient texts including the Vedas and Upanishads. The Hindu temples stand as the symbol of values and beliefs steeped in the Indian culture from thousands of years. Patronized generously by the rulers in the olden times, these temples also stood as a sign of their regal power and might, apart from being the symbol of art and architecture.

Even they are equally sacred, temples in different regions have their own distinct structural styles and the differentiation lies essentially in the shape and pattern of the Shikara (the superstructure). The style of construction is sometimes referred to as Nagara style, a type of temple mentioned in the Shilpa-shastras (a traditional canons of architecture), but exact correlation of the Shilpa-shastra terms with extant architecture has not yet established. It consists of two structures, the taller sanctum, the main shrine and the shorter mandapa (the front hall). The Shikaras normally resemble large cones and are decorated with many similar, nano images.

Here are few famous temples in North India:

  1. Jammu and Kashmir
  • Amarnath Temple
  • Raghunath Temples
  • Shankaracharya Temple
  • Vaishnodevi Temple
  • Kheer Bhavani Temple
  1. New Delhi
  • Chattarpur Mandir Temple
  • Iskcon Temple
  • Lakshmi Narayan Temple
  • Lotus Temple
  • Kalkaji Mandir
  • Sheetla Mata Mandir
  • Swaminarayan Temple
  1. Himachal Pradesh
  • Baijnath Temple
  • Chamunda Devi Temple
  • Chintpurni Temple
  • Jwalamukhi Temple
  • Naina Devi Temple
  1. Uttar Pradesh
  • Shakumbhari Devi Temple
  • Dwarkadhish Temple
  • Bharat Mata Temple
  • Bankey Bihari Temple
  • sankat Temple
  • ISKCON Temple
  • Vishwanath Temple
  1. Madhya Pradesh
  • Kaal Bhairav Temple
  • Teli Ka Mandir Temple
  • Mahakaleshwar Temple
  • Khajuraho Temple
  1. Rajasthan
  • Brahma Pushkar Temple
  • Dilwara Temples
  • Eklingji Temple
  • Kaila Devi Temple
  • Karni Mata Temple
  • Nasiyan Temple
  • Shrinathji Temple
  • Birla Temple
  1. Uttarakhand
  • Badrinath Temple
  • Chandi Devi Temple
  • Gangotri Temple
  • Har-Ki-Pauri
  • Kalimath Temple
  • Kedarnath Temple
  • Manasa Devi Temple
  • Neelkanth Temple
  • Yamunotri Temple
  • Kedarnath Jyothirlingam Temple
  1. Maharashtra
  • Elephanta Cave Temple
  • Ajanta Cave Temple
  • Morgaon Temple
  1. Gujarat
  • Nageshwar Jyothirlingam Temple
  • Somnath Jyothirlingam Temple
  1. Punjab
  • Golden Temple

Other Famous North Indian Temples List